Skip to content

January 10 – Servanthood

January 12, 2012

“Therefore when thou doest thine alms, do not sound a trumpet before thee, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may have glory of men.  Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.” -Mat 6:2

I live in a culture that teaches me to “have its cake and eat it too.”  In my christian life, I struggle with the same.  I have the desire to serve the church, help others, and do many good works; but when I do, I often want others to know about it.  I wave the flag of boastfulness and gain the attention of others so I can feel good about myself, and get that coveted “pat on the back.”  In corporate America and in social settings, it is common place to be recognized for a generous donation or service to a community.  It places all the focus upon that individual and (no doubt) benefits him either in business, feeding his ego, or both.  Jesus has not  called me to be like the world.  When I do good works, it should be, not for the limelight and attention, but secretly.  If I make boast of it, then I gain only and exactly what I have asked for.  There is no reward left– I received the praise of men, exactly what I was looking for.

Wow, that’s special, isn’t it?  Why do I not just simply do what Jesus taught, and receive the reward that will last forever.  If I humble myself and seek not for the praise of men, He will reward me in big ways!

“But when thou doest alms, let not thy left hand know what thy right hand doeth: That thine alms may be in secret: and thy Father which seeth in secret himself shall reward thee openly.” – Mat 6:3-4

As a servant of Christ, I will take no thought for my ego, pride or self-serving ways.  Rather, I will, in humility, seek to please my neighbor in a way that draws absolute benefit to him/her.  Then all the praise can rightfully go to God, who deserves all glory.  Who am I that I did some great thing?  It is only because of what Christ did at the cross and what He does daily in my life, that I do what I do.  The glory belongs to God!

I pray I will focus on what He did for me and what I, through Christ, can do for others; instead of focusing on what I can get in return.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 6:57 am

    Hebrews 10:24 explained! Papa

Trackbacks

  1. 120117–George Hach’s Journal–Tuesday | George Hach's Blog

Leave a Reply

