Skip to content

January 9 – Getting To Know My Neighbor

January 12, 2012

“For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this; Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.” – Gal 5:14

Who is my neighbor?  Do I really know him/her?  Specifically, I’m talking about my brothers and sisters in Christ.  I don’t know about you, but I struggle with this in my life.  Although I may see you at Sunday Worship on Sundays, I struggle to really know you as individuals.

What are your likes and dislikes?  What are your hobbies or things that interest you?  What are your strengths that I may gain assistance? What are your weaknesses that I may help you with?

I ask these questions because as I strive to follow my Lord each and every day, I do it with various interests, strengths and weaknesses.  Many things confront my path in this struggle to live my life pleasing before God.

Can I really do it alone?  No, I can’t.  Aside from Sunday attendance at the assembly being a necessity; one of the greatest blessings I share with others is the common bond of brotherhood in Jesus Christ.  This bond reaches beyond Sunday worship, and reaches into my every day life.

Too many times I have failed to reach out to a brother or sister in need.  Perhaps I (through Christ) could be the strength for someone else’s weakness.  Maybe I could be the rock for their instability.  I could extend the arm to hold for somebody’s stumbling?  I should be the light for the wanderer.  What about being the feet for those who can go no further on their own or the shelter for those in the middle of a storm?  Perhaps the Lord can use me to be the instructor of the unlearned.  There is so many opportunities in the Lord, yet I do not alway see them.

I will determine to look across the aisle, choose a neighbor I don’t know very well, and get to know them.  I will determine to spend time with them, maybe invite them over.  I long to be close to the family of God, my closest neighbors.  I should desire the presence of fellow Christians above anything the world has to offer.  Doing this will not only make someone else feel special, the Lord will bless me immensely and through them, strengthen me in my spiritual journey.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lowell R. Price permalink
    March 19, 2012 6:33 am

    I really do like this as it too reflects some of my own thoughts along this line of Christian living. I too want my own life to be of benefit to others as we both travel this lonely road from calvary. Papa

Trackbacks

  1. Cryptoquote Spoiler – 01/13/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

