Skip to content

January 4 – Alive Through His Word

January 11, 2012

“It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.” – John 6:63

It is this constant struggle within my soul that makes it so difficult to trust His words.  The Spirit makes me alive and speaks to me words of life through the Word.  If I spend no time with the Word of God, I will have no life.  Too often I approach God and His throne so casually.  I do not show reverence and respect to who He is.  Like Moses, I should take these laid-back religious shoes off my fence-walking religious feet and get serious about meeting God in prayer and in meditation.  When I do, I know He will reveal Himself to me.  I must get rid of all compromise and middle ground as a Christian and fully submit my will to His.  Have I ever really been in His presence?  I’m not sure.  I am so sinful.  To know Jesus Christ as my Savior means I know who I am without Him.  My relationship with Him calls me to fall down in complete humiliation before Him and cry for mercy.  To realize the liberty He has given me; to realize exactly what He did for me; to really commune with Him is to know Him as He is.

“My words…are spirit… they are life.”  The Bible – His Living Word, was once only words to me.  Through circumstance and experience I have realized they are no longer “just words,” but His words… and they are life to me.  The Word of God is now new, fresh and living in my soul if I will but open my Bible.  I’m not dependant upon some feeling or supernatural visions and dreams.  God’s message (what He wants me to know) is clearly spoken through His Word.  No more guessing, wishing or worrying.  For me to commune with God, for my relationship to be everything it can be, I must, by faith, listen to His words. “So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” – Rom 10:17

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

