Skip to content

January 3 – Why Do I Not Always Obey?

January 2, 2012

“And he said unto his disciples, Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat; neither for the body, what ye shall put on.” – Luke 12:22

My spirit is willing, but why do I not always obey?  I seek to follow the Lord in every area of my life, without exception.  The difficult part is in trusting Him entirely.  Can I?

I must stop worrying about things I cannot control.  Even the fear of committing the same sins I have committed in the past must be put behind me and I will not think on those things.  Do I believe His grace is greater than all my sin?  Yes!

I will, therefore, look to Him when I have a decision to make.  I will be ready to acknowledge Him working in my life and those around me.  As I walk on beyond my sinfulness, I vow to seek Him.  I choose not to question Him, but to trust Him.

If I am worrying about how God is going to work in my life, or how a certain obstacle will be overcome, I have not fully put my trust in the Lord.  Worrying at all is unnecessary.  Worrying becomes doubt, and doubting is a sin.  Like Abraham of old, my faith in Him will be exhibited by a trusting heart that simply moves at His bidding.

I pray to the Lord that He moves me from doubting, to a life full of faith and trust.  I pray for a heart that will completely surrender its will to His.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

